Jan Švankmajer: Alice´s Adventures in Wonderland

  • 1 of 3

The present special complete edition of Carroll’s Alice contains both volumes – the first book, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland as well as the second book, Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There.

  • Not available
700 CZK
Category: Others
The item has been sold out...

In addition the present volume also contains poems which open and end each book, together with Carroll’s Christmas and Easter greetings in the form of letters to his child readers which accompanied some later editions. Alice finds herself in the mysterious wonderland, a marvelous place whose peculiar inhabitants generally behave in a highly irrational manner. These eccentric characters implicate Alice in various fantastic situations, but she remains unfazed throughout, invariably responding with impervious logic. Her child-like naiveté enables her to point out the absurdity of the world, and in doing so to illustrate the singularity and authenticity of the perception of a child. This is also the reason that the book has long been regarded as a literary classic that will never become outdated.

Be the first who will post an article to this item!

Only registered users may post articles. Please log in or register.

Do not fill out this field:
Add a rating
Do not fill out this field:
TF Avatar of author | 9.8.2021
Thank you very much for this Book "Alice in Wonderland - and Trough the looking-glass" with the interesting illustrations by Jan Svankmajer. I am passionate about Svankmajer's films and graphic works, and this book is an addition to my collection of illustrated Alice-Books.
KM Avatar of author Karel Zeman Museum (Administrator) 13.8.2021
Thank you for such a lovely review. It is a unique edition and we are glad you love it!:)
JS Avatar of author | 27.7.2021
Very. Lovely Jan Svankmajer illustrated Alice in wonderland and Through the looking-glass. Not cheap but unique...
KM Avatar of author Karel Zeman Museum (Administrator) 13.8.2021
Thank you for your nice review:)
Y Avatar of author | 6.7.2021
This is a very original and unusual Alice in Wonderland book. Wonderful surrealist illustrations! I am very happy to find it in English, thank you very much!
KM Avatar of author Karel Zeman Museum (Administrator) 22.7.2021
We are glad that you are happy with your book! Thank you for your nice review:)
TS Avatar of author | 23.1.2021
Beautiful book!
KM Avatar of author Karel Zeman Museum (Administrator) 26.1.2021
Thank you very much for your review:)